Free Webinar - Looking at Early Childhood Care Needs for Newcomer Children - Refugees and Asylum Seekers - Thursday at 9am

Posted in Community Programs / Immigration News / Children / Families



Free Webinar - Looking at Early Childhood Care Needs for Newcomer Children - Refugees and Asylum Seekers  - Thursday at 9am

Responding to Early Childhood Education and Care Needs of Children of Asylum Seekers and Refugees in Europe and North America - Migration Policy Institute  


Thursday, APRIL 12, 2018 - 9 am Central time - Regina

11:00 A.M. ET (New York, D.C.) / 8:00 A.M. PT (San Francisco)/

5:00 P.M. CET (Berlin, Brussels) / 4:00 P.M. GMT (London)

SPEAKERS

Anna Österlund, Head of Unit for Teaching and Learning for New Arrivals, Swedish National Agency for Education

Maki Park, Senior Policy Analyst, MPI 

MODERATOR

Margie McHugh, Director, National Center on Immigrant Integration Policy, MPI

MPI WEBINAR  -  REGISTER Here - NOW

As asylum seekers and refugees have arrived in significant numbers in Europe and North America in recent years, many countries have struggled to address the newcomers’ basic reception needs and provide effective integration services.

Young children comprise a substantial share of these arrivals, and many have experienced significant trauma and stress that pose serious risks to their cognitive, psychosocial, and physical development.

Early childhood education and care (ECEC) programs present an important opportunity to mitigate many risks these children may face, improving their education trajectories and supporting longer-term success.

They can also play a critical role in the integration of refugee parents and families more broadly.

In many countries, however, services for young refugee children are highly limited and lack the capacity to meet their learning and development needs. 

This webinar marks the release of a new Migration Policy Institute report examining the challenges and successes major host countries in Europe and North America are experiencing in providing high-quality ECEC services.

The report draws on fieldwork conducted in nine countries: Belgium, Canada, Germany, Greece, Italy, the Netherlands, Sweden, Turkey, and the United States. It is an initiative of the Transatlantic Forum on Inclusive Early Years, a consortium of European and U.S. foundations convened by the Brussels-based King Baudouin Foundation.

During the webinar, authors will discuss the report’s findings, highlighting promising policies and practices identified in field research, as well as key areas in which ECEC services for this population need to be strengthened.

They will be joined by Anna Österlund, from the Swedish National Agency for Education, who will highlight innovative national and local policies in Sweden that support young refugee children in their early learning experiences.

   

    


Comments

replica rolex watches